Telefónica Germany:

John McGuigan named new Managing Director of Consumer Sales & Service at Telefónica Germany

MUNICH. John McGuigan is taking over as Managing Director of Consumer Sales & Service at Telefónica Germany from 1 October 2011. In his new position he will report directly to the CEO René Schuster and be responsible for the company's private client business. Across Germany as a whole this means about 1,000 O2 shops, the online shop at and indirect sales as well as all contact points of residential costumer care.
McGuigan has been with the Telefónica Group since 2007. As CEO, he was previously in charge of Telefónica's expansion in Slovakia. Before that he was responsible for residential customer service at Telefónica UK. "I am delighted that we have been able to recruit a manager with international experience for the position of Managing Director of Consumer Sales & Service", says René Schuster, CEO of Telefónica Germany. "He will support us in pushing ahead with our ambitious goals and in offering our customers the best service possible."
Telefónica Germany GmbH & Co. OHG and its brands O2 and Alice belong to Telefónica Europe and are part of the Spanish telecommunication group Telefónica S.A. The Company offers its German private and business customers postpaid and prepaid mobile telecom products as well as innovative mobile data services based on the GPRS and UMTS technologies. In addition, the integrated communications provider also offers DSL fixed network telephony and high-speed internet. According to a network test by "connect" magazine (edition 12/10), the O2 network is top of the list when it comes to reliable file downloads and champion in the telephony category. In the overall result the company is on second position. "Kundenmonitor Deutschland 2011" honoured Telefónica Germany as the network operator with the most satisfied mobile phone customers in the German market for the fifth time in a row. Telefónica Europe has more than 57 million mobile and fixed network customers in Great Britain, Ireland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Germany.