Telefónica Deutschland Annual General Meeting:

Dividend of EUR 744 million for the 2016 fiscal year

Read page

Today, Telefónica Deutschland Holding AG successfully held its Annual General Meeting for the 2016 fiscal year at the Alte Kongresshalle in Munich. The Management Board highlighted the company’s achievements in the German telecommunications market as well as its progress towards becoming the OnLife Telco and reiterated its outlook for the year 2017.

Credits: Herr Müller
Rachel Empey & Markus Haas
“Telefónica Deutschland has performed well and achieved its targets,” said Markus Haas, Chief Executive Officer of Telefónica Deutschland, in his first speech during an Annual General Meeting after taking office. “We have mostly completed the biggest corporate merger in the history of the European wireless market. At the same time, we were able to push ahead with our transformation into the OnLife Telco.” Chief Financial Officer Rachel Empey added: “We have achieved a lot during the past two and a half years. We are ideally positioned for success. The German market offers vast potential. But the decisive factor for our future success is the digital transformation.”

Shareholders back proposals

Credits: Herr Müller
The distribution of profits as proposed by the Management Board and Supervisory Board was resolved with a majority of 99,4 percent of share capital present. For the financial year 2016 Telefónica Deutschland Holding AG will pay a cash dividend of EUR 0.25 per share, or EUR 744 million in total, to its shareholders. This represents an increase of 4.2 percent versus the previous year. In addition, shareholders approved the resolution to discharge the members of the Management Board and the Supervisory Board for the fiscal year 2016, as well as the appointment of PricewaterhouseCoopers as new auditors, with a large majority. The shareholders also approved the re-election of all eight shareholder representatives of the Supervisory Board. The re-elected representatives were as follows: Eva Castillo Sanz, Ángel Vilá Boix, Laura Abasolo García de Baquedano, Peter Erskine, Patricia Cobián González, Michael Hoffmann, Enrique Medina Malo and Sally Anne Ashford. The participation rate at the Annual General Meeting was approximately 95 percent of the share capital.
Photos: Christian Müller