Telefónica Deutschland with continuously high LTE expansion rate:More than 800 new LTE transmitters in April 2019 improve O2 network

Read page

Credits: Telefónica Deutschland
Cayetano Carbajo Martín
Telefónica Deutschland continues to go full speed ahead with the expansion of its O2 LTE network: In April 2019 alone, the telecommunications provider built more than 800 new LTE stations or upgraded the capacity of existing LTE locations throughout Germany. The company is thereby successfully continuing its massive LTE expansion programme that aims to implement around 10,000 LTE upgrades this year. In order to improve the network quality for its customers all over the country and grant them mobile freedom, Telefónica Deutschland is maintaining its high rate of LTE upgrades and is commissioning more than one new LTE transmitter per hour on average. “We are currently shouldering the biggest LTE expansion programme in our company’s history,” said Cayetano Carbajo Martín, Chief Technology Officer (CTO) at Telefónica Deutschland. “This year, we are stepping it up another notch in terms of speed and scope of our network expansion. Around 10,000 LTE upgrades will ensure better coverage, higher speeds and significantly improved network quality throughout Germany. We are confident that we will meet the coverage requirements specified in 2015 at the end of this year. We are working on this every day with all available resources.”

Huge progress with the expansion in urban and rural areas

Credits: Gettyimages
Photo: gettyimages
In April 2019, Telefónica Deutschland upgraded several hundred mobile sites from GSM (2G) and UMTS (3G) to the fast LTE (4G) standard, thereby providing LTE coverage to numerous places for the first time. These include Hüsby in the Schleswig-Flensburg district, Altentreptow in the Mecklenburgische Seenplatte district and the Brandenburg municipalities of Görzke (Potsdam-Mittelmark), Lebus (Märkisch-Oderland) and Am Mellensee (Teltow-Fläming). Furthermore, the company has improved the O2 mobile network by building new LTE stations in Beetzendorf-Tangeln in the Altmark region, Wansleben am See in the Mansfeld-Südharz district, Rees and Kranenburg in the Kleve district, Werdohl-Borbecke in the Sauerland region and Knüllwald in the Schwalm-Eder district. In southern Germany, Telefónica Deutschland has supplied numerous places with new LTE stations, including Marxheim, Genderkingen and Möttingen (all in the Donau-Ries district), Tüssling and Marktl (Altötting district), Kaufbeuren, Oberostendorf, Lautrach and Legau (all in the Ostallgäu district), Pfronstetten (Reutlingen), Hilzingen (Konstanz) and Deggenhausertal (Lake Constance district). A detailed list of districts for April 2019 is included at the end of the press release. At the same time, the company has upgraded numerous existing LTE sites to allow customers in urban and densely populated areas to benefit from even higher speeds when using mobile data.

Significant acceleration of the LTE expansion

Antenna for mobile communications
After Telefónica Deutschland focused primarily on the major technical project of integrating the networks of O2 and E-Plus, the company is now placing a particularly strong focus on expanding the LTE network. Telefónica Deutschland upgraded more than 6,700 LTE sites back in 2018 and thereby provided a new area larger than the state of Lower Saxony with LTE for the first time. Following the successful completion of the network integration at the turn of the year, the company has fully shifted its capacities to the expansion of LTE this year. With a unique expansion programme of around 10,000 LTE upgrades, Telefónica Deutschland is investing a considerable amount in the expansion measures. Overall, the company can currently provide more than 90% of the German population with LTE via the O2 network. In the largest German cities, it is almost 100%. Telefónica Deutschland will further accelerate the LTE expansion over the coming weeks and give the expansion a massive boost in rural areas. The company is thereby taking further steps towards becoming “mobile customer and digital champion”.

In April 2019, Telefónica Deutschland upgraded existing GSM/UMTS stations with LTE and thereby improved LTE coverage in areas of Germany including the following districts and cities:

Aachen, Altötting, Amberg-Sulzbach, Aschaffenburg, Augsburg (district), Augsburg (city), Bad-Dürkheim, Bad Tölz-Wolfratshausen, Bamberg, Bayreuth, Berlin, Bochum, Bodenseekreis, Bonn, Börde, Borken, Braunschweig, Bremen, Bremerhaven, Calw, Chemnitz, Cloppenburg, Coburg, Coesfeld, Cottbus, Cuxhaven, Dahme-Spreewald, Darmstadt, Deggendorf, Delmenhorst, Diepholz, Donau-Ries, Dortmund, Dresden, Duisburg, Düren, Düsseldorf, Eisenach, Emmendingen, Emsland, Ennepe-Ruhr-Kreis, Erding, Erlangen, Essen, Euskirchen, Frankfurt am Main, Fürstenfeldbruck, Gelsenkirchen, Gifhorn, Göppingen, Goslar, Göttingen, Groß-Gerau, Gütersloh, Halle, Hamburg, Hameln-Pyrmont, Region Hannover, Hannover (city), Heidelberg, Heilbronn, Helmstedt, Herford, Herne, Herzogtum Lauenburg, Hildesheim, Hochsauerlandkreis, Hof, Ingolstadt, Karlsruhe (district), Karlsruhe (city), Kiel, Kleve, Köln, Konstanz, Krefeld, Leipzig, Lippe, Lörrach, Ludwigsburg, Ludwigslust-Parchim , Magdeburg, Main-Kinzig-Kreis, Main-Spessart, Main-Taunus, Mannheim, Mansfeld-Südharz, Märkischer Kreis, Märkisch-Oderland, Mecklenburgische Seenplatte, Mettmann, Minden-Lübbecke, Mülheim, München (district), München (city), Münster, Neu-Ulm, Neuwied, Nienburg/Weser, Nürnberg, Oberbergischer Kreis, Oberhavel, Offenbach, Osnabrück (district), Osnabrück (city), Ostallgäu, Ostalbkreis, Osterholz, Ostholstein, Ostprignitz-Ruppin, Passau, Pforzheim, Pinneberg, Potsdam-Mittelmark, Prignitz, Rastatt, Recklinghausen, Rems-Murr-Kreis, Rendsburg-Eckernförde, Reutlingen, Rhein-Erft-Kreis, Rheinisch-Bergischer Kreis, Rhein-Neckar, Rhein-Sieg-Kreis, Rosenheim, Rotenburg (Wümme), Roth, Rottal-Inn, Rottweil, Salzgitter, Schleswig-Flensburg, Schwäbisch Hall, Schwalm-Eder-Kreis, Schwandorf, Segeberg, Solingen, Spree-Neiße, Stade, Starnberg, Steinburg, Steinfurt, Straubing, Stuttgart, Teltow-Fläming, Traunstein, Uckermark, Unna, Unstrut-Hainich-Kreis, Viersen, Vorpommern-Rügen, Weilheim-Schongau, Werra-Meißner, Wesel, Wetteraukreis, Wiesbaden, Worms